Despite Major League Gaming going through quite a few reforms as of recent, especially being sold off to Blizzard earlier in the year, the company still seems to be pushing forward with events, perhaps even more frequently than last year as the company announced earlier this week that their infamous “Anaheim” event, will be returning this year on June 10th-12th!

We are excited to announce that Major League Gaming, in collaboration with the Call of Duty® World League, Presented by PlayStation®4, will be hosting the MLG Anaheim Open. Held at the Anaheim Convention Center on June 10-12, the event will feature up to 96 amateur teams and 12 North American CWL teams competing head-to-head in Call of Duty®: Black Ops III on PlayStation®4 for a $100,000 Prize Pool and 10,000 CWL Pro Points. The Anaheim Open will be one of the key events where players can earn CWL Pro Points for a chance to qualify for the Call of Duty® Championship, Presented by PlayStation®4, which will take place this year.


As stated in the official titling of the event, this years Anaheim will feature an “Open” bracket, for 96 amateur teams to compete. The tournament is set to feature a Double Elimination, Open Bracket format, as well as a Double Elimination Championship Bracket.

Team Passes are on sale NOW and are available for $299. Competitors must be 18 years of age or older. Spectator passes are also on-sale now, which start at $49.99, as well as VIP tickets, which are available for $149.99 and will include 1-hour early access to the event, a free Nike MLG Anaheim hoodie, VIP reception on Friday and access to the VIP lounge. Spectators must be 14 years of age or older with parental consent form, and spectators under 16 years of age will need to be accompanied by a parent of legal guardian.

Competing North American Pro Teams
  1. OpTic Gaming
  2. Rise Nation
  3. FaZe Clan
  4. Luminosity Gaming
  5. Team eLevate
  6. Team EnVyUs
  7. compLexity Gaming
  8. Team SoloMid
  9. H2k-Gaming
  10. Dream Team
  11. Cloud9
  12. Hundred Thieves
Tournament Format

All 96 teams will begin competing in the Double Elimination Open Bracket. The final four winning bracket teams will then advance into pool play and the final four losers bracket teams will then advance into the Championship Losers Bracket. The 12 CWL Teams are set to start in Pool Play, where in which they will be separated into 4 pools. Pool Play teams will play one match against each of the other teams in their pool, ultimately being a round-robin sort of format, the final pool play standings will ten determine each team’s placement in the Double Elimination Championship bracket.


For more information regarding the Major League Gaming Anaheim Open Event, you can check out the companies official announcement, as well as follow the company on twitter @MLG.

About The Author

Related Posts

Leave a Reply